Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s that time of year again when the evenings grow cold and there no better place than sitting in front of the fire in a big cosy armchair. The only problem with that is that to have a nice fire you need wood , coal and/or turf.

Living so close to the city center may have many advantages, but finding reasonably priced fuel for the fire isn’t one of them. So when I arrived back on my bike this afternoon I was equally surprised and delighted to see a big truck unloading a huge bag of wood outside my neighbours door. Not one to miss an opportunity I asked the lovely gentleman to unload a few smaller bags into my tiny back yard – the big one was just too much for me to store – and now I’ll have wood for a good week or so.

With quite a lot of writing still left to do today I have to admit that I am now looking forward to my evening spent beside the open fire, knitting socks and enjoying the wintry smell of burning turf – and who knows I may treat myself to a glass of wine!

stacked outside

stacked outside

waiting by the fire place, the best combination for any open fire: wood and turf

waiting by the fire place, the best combination for any open fire: wood and turf

 

 

