Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

from my bedroom window in Renvyle House, Connemara

from my bedroom window in Renvyle House, Connemara

rain approaching

rain approaching

a boat

a boat

flying high

flying high

wet canoe

wet canoe

next stop  New York

next stop New York

passing by the famous Kylemore Abbey

passing by the famous Kylemore Abbey

After a long drive up through Connemara on Saturday I spent the night in the historic (if somewhat rundown) Renvyle House. With a lake on one side and the Atlantic on the other the house, where W.B. Yeats often stayed, is surrounded by beautifully, wild nature. And even though the Irish weather wasn’t on it’s best behaviour the stormy wind and the frequent rain added to the atmosphere.

After a pub lunch and a soak in the tub I spent the evening, and most of the night, celebrating my good friends D. birthday, Lots of wine, good food, songs and laughter filled our tummies and the night. And while we were hoping to meet the Renvyle ghosts, the only happenings we had were the ones we made ourselves.

Sleep was the only thing I had too little of when I set out yesterday afternoon on my drive down to Killarney. Like so often when driving around Ireland I was astounded by the beauty, so even though I did take a wrong turn somewhere, which prolonged my journey unexpectedly, the long way down from wild Connemara to pretty Killarney was an enjoyable (somewhat tiring) trip.

Greeted by rainbows, I arrived in Killarney just in time to catch the tail-end of Ireland’s Biker Festival, and after a burger and drink in the bar it was time to head to bed.

Sadly this morning I was awakened to the tattoo of rain against the window, so the walk around the lake will have to wait. I just hope that the sun may come out for long enough for me to take a stroll around the grounds.

But if not, well I shall spend my day in lobby of this lovely lakeside hotel and write, a wet but beautiful view to inspire me every time I look up. And tomorrow is another day, one that will hopefully allow me some dry moments so I can at the very least take some photos of the beauty that surrounds me.

