Tags

, , , , ,

Opening your eyes in the morning and only seeing darkness doesn’t make pushing away the covers and clambering out bed any easier. But get up we must, even into darkness.

I have been trying to get into a new rhythm, I naturally lean towards late nights so getting up early isn’t always an enjoyable event And since I don’t do a 9-5 job my schedule is a little bit fleeting, time-slots scattered around my calendar like footprints in the snow.

But with 2015 nearly two weeks old I decided I wanted to try and go to bed  a little bit earlier and greet the day a tad sooner too. I thought that ,maybe, be creating a more regular timeline I might be able to get more done. And I have to say I have been enjoying the extra time I have in the morning.

An extra cup of tea and an unhurried approach to the new day ahead does seem to change how I step out into the world and close the door behind me. But I do have to admit it hasn’t quite steeped in to my subconscious and the dark mornings that greet me aren’t making it easier.

This morning I did linger a little longer under the covers, the cold night still clinging on to the world not really luring me up and out. But since the nights are slowly getting shorter and daylight is creeping in earlier I hope, in time, that too shall change.

And I have to admit there is a certain magic to being awake when the rest of the world is still hidden in darkness.

Opportunities are like sunrises. If you wait too long you miss them.

Author William Arthur Ward

