Tags

, , , , , ,

Against all odds it stayed quite dry today in Lisbon. So when I woke up and saw the sun shining I knew there was only one place to go – Belem.

I jumped on the Nr15 tram and was lucky enough to have a window-seat which allowed me some extra sightseeing time as the tram twisted and turned through the tight, curvy streets of Lisboa.

Not wanting to chance it too much I decided to take a stroll along the waterfront first and postponed the famous monastery and art  museum for later in the evening.

With the sun warm on my back, my rain jacket tided around my waist and my camera on my hip I took in big breaths of salty smelling air and enjoyed being out by the river.

After my time out on the water and a quick lunch in the sun I strolled down towards the monetary. But since I still had plenty of time and the sun was still high in the sky I decided to forgo the tourist queue at the monastery and wandered on to the botanic gardens.

I was greeted by towing palm trees, lots of green and some odd looking ducks. But as I wandered around the gardens I couldn’t help but compare it to the wonderful one in Dublin which (I am very honest here) beats it hands down – and it’s free! However I did enjoy my stroll, the fresh air and the birds.

Then it was time to venture into the monastery and I was extremely lucky. At three o’clock the crowds had cleared and I had space to see and enjoy the wonders that have made it famous, leaving me time to visit the museum afterwards  – avoiding the rain when it did then finally come.

Overall i enjoyed my trip to Portugal’s capital and I would go again to explore the corners I missed – due to time. And while I loved the sights and the people were very friendly, I will say that the food wasn’t great but the coffee and wine was!

ariving in Belem

ariving in Belem

02_park 03_detail 04_detail 05_feet 07_detail 06_detail 09_padraodosdescobrimentos 08_detail 10_lighthouse 11_tables 12_steps 13_window 15_nofishing 14_hook 16_steps 17_view 19_detail 18_window 22_window 20_canonball 21_canonball23_detail 24_detail 25_detail 26_window 27_detail 28_detail 29_bridge 29_me 30_tower 31_torredebelem

hidden Rhino - one was brought back from India and became a special symbol of Lisbon

hidden Rhino – one was brought back from India and became a special symbol of Lisbon

33_balconies 34_question35_green 36_window 37_art 38_roofs 39_church 40_view

Jeronimos Monastery

Jeronimos Monastery

42_detail

the botanic gardens

the botanic gardens

44_detail 45_orange 46_tree 47_palm

a leaf

a leaf

49_window 50_door51_flower 52_duck

cheeky ducky (have never seen a  duck tongue before)

cheeky ducky (have never seen a duck tongue before)

54_duck 55_chinees 56_peacock 57_peacock 58_statue 59_pond 60_pod 61_cock 62_washing 63_door 64_pillars 65_detail 66_detail 67_view 68_detail 69_view 70_detail 71_view 72_window 73_detail 74_bags 75_detail 76_detail 77_detail

the west door to the Jeronimos Monastary  (thank you stranger in red)

the west door to the Jeronimos Monastary (thank you stranger in red)

sadly not for me

sadly not for me

on my way to see some art - the Berardo Collection

on my way to see some art – the Berardo Collection

82_letters 83_metal

Warhol

Warhol

"artful" selfie in the museum of art

“artful” selfie in the museum of art

sun setting over the monastary

sun setting over the monastary

a bench

a bench

happy steps

happy steps

the ceiling I sat under

the ceiling I sat under

in the restaurant

in the restaurant

time to go home

time to go home

 

 

