Tags

, , , ,

Lisbon was playing summertime today and as I walked around I was treated to sunny skies.  Today, on my second day in this beautiful city, I decided to wander around the area known as Bairo Alto and all the way down to Chidado.

I started and ended my trip n the tram, the Elevador da Gloria, as it is just around the corner of my hotel. And I have to admit I was very grateful not to have to trust my feet for the steep climb uphill, especially this evening as they were very tired and a little heavy.

Halfway through the day I lost my tour guide … or maybe I was too slow for it and it made it’s own way. All my notes got lost, and before I did I replaced it asap. Now I have to plan my next days again and just hope I don’t forget anything.

The weirdest thing that happened today was that while having lunch on the Rua Garrett a group of famous Portuguese ( didn’t know them) started singing a medley of Christmas songs – English ones in Portuguese and the square went wild … I enjoyed the oddity and my tomato salad.

And now I am about to go out for dinner and contemplate buying a really expensive dress I saw and loved … just not sure my budget will stretch. I can sleep on it but I am not sure that i will even find the store again, Lisbon is a labyrinth of alleyways.

Here are the photos I took, well a selection of the (literally) hundreds I shot, leaving my memory card full and my battery empty.

hot chestnuts

hot chestnuts

falling apart

falling apart

inside the Elevadoe da Gloria

inside the Elevadoe da Gloria

tram

seatsgate

even though it feels like summer the leaves tell a different tale

even though it feels like summer the leaves tell a different tale

stunning vies over Lisbon

stunning vies over Lisbon

you can see the water from up teher too

you can see the water from up there too

stripes

roofroofsroof2

some statutes loving the view

some statutes loving the view

rooftops_panorama

bench

newspaperboystatue

some alleyway

a hidden cloister dedicated to the inquisition

a hidden cloister dedicated to the inquisition

beautiful tiles inside

beautiful tiles inside

tilesblue2

love the ceiling

love the ceiling

even the confession booth looks lovely

even the confession booth looks lovely

detail1steps

some scaffolding holding an old building up

some scaffolding holding an old building up

some scaffolding holding an old building up

some scaffolding holding an old building up

some scaffolding holding an old building up

some scaffolding holding an old building up

an old lamp - new bulb

an old lamp – new bulb

love this window

love this window

inside the church "La Trindade Coelho)

inside the church “La Trindade Coelho”

gold everywhere

gold everywhere

a lightfixture

a lightfixture

a bronze of a tram ticket seller

a bronze of a tram ticket seller

tram lights

tram lights

the steps  do Duque

the steps do Duque

washing drying

washing drying

lots of steps but greta views

lots of steps but great views

lots of colourful houses

lots of colourful houses

look up

look up

old shoeboxes

old shoe-boxes

standing guard

standing guard

on the square Carmo

on the square Carmo

gypsy woman

gypsy woman

outside the Convento do Carmo

outside the Convento do Carmo

the door to the Convento Camo

the door to the Convento Camo

inside the ruins

inside the ruins

On the square do Carmo

On the square do Carmo

detail6 detail7celingcloister2lampcloistercelingcloisterdetail4

mirrored

mirrored

a crown

a crown

a tiled house

a tiled house

a pink balcony box

a pink balcony box

the ceiling  inside the curch on Rua Garrett

the ceiling inside the church on Rua Garrett

lavender in front of an alter

lavender in front of an altar

I sat beside this man (a famous writer - I forget the name) while having lunch

I sat beside this man (a famous writer – I forget the name) while having lunch

glossy pavement

glossy pavement

lovely seats

lovely seats

at the national opera  - sadly nothing playing this week

at the national opera – sadly nothing playing this week

rundown house

rundown house

window4

think people still live here

think people still live here

around teh corner from the opera

around the corner from the opera

stairways up

stairways up

lamp

lamp

too high to hang ... wonder how it got there

too high to hang … wonder how it got there

they painted the street pink in the Rua do Carvalho

they painted the street pink in the Rua do Carvalho

seats

seats

a handmade lamp ... wish it would fit into my suitcase

a handmade lamp … wish it would fit into my suitcase

a lovely cafe

a lovely cafe

whitesflowerpotsfishing

the Elevador da Bica

the Elevador da Bica

back in the tram - this time the Elevador da Bica

back in the tram – this time the Elevador da Bica

 

 

