Tags

, , , , ,

Today I set all my stress aside, rose early (in the middle of the night really) and made my way to Dublin airport. For weeks now I have been looking forward to my trip away and I couldn’t wait to depart Dublin for a trip to Lisbon.

The wonderfully weird thing was that the flight was filled with part tourists, part Portuguese and a huge party of Catholic priests so I spent the two and half hour flight discussing exorcism, confession and the immaculate conception of Mary. No wonder the time flew (sorry pun) by and I felt safe in the knowledge that surely the prayers of all these holy men would be enough to hold the plane in air.

I have never been to Portugal and the once magnificent city of Lisbon seemed the perfect place to start exploring this part of Europe. So when I landed before Lunch in Lisbon I just couldn’t hide my excitement .

Now after my first day of walking Lisbon’s cobblestones my feet are sore, my head is tired and my heart is full. Here are a few shoots I took on my wanderings.

Rossio Square - walking on black and white

Rossio Square – walking on black and white

Rossio is Lisbon's main square and dates back to Roman times but has been reinvented time and time again

Rossio is Lisbon’s main square and dates back to Roman times but has been reinvented time and time again

drinking fountain on Rossio

drinking fountain on Rossio

waiting to be turned on (Rossio)

waiting to be turned on (Rossio)

bubbling water (Rossio)

bubbling water (Rossio)

fountain4

looking up from the ground

looking up from the ground

view up to the Barrio do Castelo

view up to the Barrio do Castelo

TuK-Tuk ride anyone?

TuK-Tuk ride anyone?

looking unkempt

looking unkempt

the sun caught on the Christmas lights on Rua  da Prata

the sun caught on the Christmas lights on Rua da Prata

windows

windows

had my lunch is this quirky cafe / vintage shop called  "The Other Face of the Moon"  (A Outra Face da Lua) just off Rua da Prata

had my lunch is this quirky cafe / vintage shop called “The Other Face of the Moon” (A Outra Face da Lua) just off Rua da Prata

the view you have when walking out

the view you have when walking out

corner in Baixa - the 'aging' heart of Lisbon

corner in Baixa – the ‘aging’ heart of Lisbon

a church bell

a church bell

fenced off

fenced off

tiled houses are a common sight

tiled houses are a common sight

street signs

street signs

door knockers  for my cousin

door knockers for my cousin

corner2

reflecting beauty

reflecting beauty

arches down at Praca do Comercio

arches down at Praca do Comercio

street lights on the Praca, down by the river

street lights on the Praca, down by the river

the Igreja da Misericordia didn't survive the 1755 earthquake (like most of Lisbon) but the portal was left standing with Our Lady of Mercy in center stage

the Igreja da Misericordia didn’t survive the 1755 earthquake (like most of Lisbon) but the portal was left standing with Our Lady of Mercy in center stage

a cheerful cafe

a cheerful cafe

another knocker

another knocker

Dom Jose I, king at the time of the earthquake, looks out to the river that caused the distruction

Dom Jose I, king at the time of the earthquake, looks out to the river that caused the distruction

at the harbour

at the harbour

maritime motive

maritime motive

looking across the river

looking across the river

panorama

panorama

Triumphal arch at the end of Rua Augusta

Triumphal arch at the end of Rua Augusta

detail on the Triumphal arch

detail on the Triumphal arch

the other side of the Triumphal arch

the other side of the Triumphal arch

falling down, even though Lisbon is a thriving city you can see the decay everywhere, but you can also see a lot of renovation taking place too.

falling down, even though Lisbon is a thriving city you can see the decay everywhere, but you can also see a lot of renovation taking place too.

still on the Rua Augusta, Lisbon's longest pedestrian street

still on the Rua Augusta, Lisbon’s longest pedestrian street

blue tiles

blue tiles

tipsy window

tipsy window

on the square again (Rossio)

on the square again (Rossio)

up the hill

up the hill

