Tags

, , , , , , ,

As someone who loves to read and as someone who designs magazines I have to admit that I sometimes pick the books that i buy based on their cover. Sometimes it’s the title of the book, sometimes it’s the blurb on the back but sometimes if I like the look of a book I may just pick it up and purchase it.

Now I know that many believe you “cannot judge” a book by it’s cover, but I don’t believe that to be true, if I don’t like the dustcover, if it doesn’t speak to me or if it shows me that the book is based in a specific genre I do judge a book by it’s outer appearance, whether or not that is a good thing.

And yes, maybe I don’t end up reading some very good books because my method of choice rules them out, but sometimes I end up reading surprisings ones, ones only end up on my shelf because I like the look of them.

Very elegant, reflecting it's title.

Very elegant, reflecting it’s title.

I love the black lined pages

I love the black lined pages

The spine repeats the simple design

The spine repeats the simple design

