Tags

, , , , , ,

Today is my last full day of Berlin and I am taking it slow, trying to get organised for my train-trip to Hamburg tomorrow. I am packing my bags, repacking them and then packing them all over again, somehow I will have to find room to bring everything back to Dublin with me. I have had to buy an extra bag as hand-luggage to be able to transport all my breakables, yet ,somehow even so my luggage has gone super nova.

Thankfully the weather is cloudy and wet, a little like yesterday, so I don’t mind staying in and relaxing, mentally preparing myself for a week of family fun near Hamburg.

But while I busy myself with the mundane and rummage around with my stuff I can leave you with some images from my last trip in Berlin, my day on the Museumsinsel in the middle of Berlin. this tiny island holds Berlin’s most important treasures. In six museums you can find art work from ancient Egypt, the Babylonian era all the way up to famous paintings of the last century.

In 1999 the Museumsinsel was declare a World Heritage Site and although there is still lots of digging and restoring going on it is one of the main tourists attractions Berlin has to offer.

outside the Bode Museum, which is filled with sculptures

outside the Bode Museum, which is filled with sculptures

the large dome

the large dome

wall stucco

wall stucco

a bronze bird

a bronze bird

I think he looks like a pirat

I think he looks like a pirat

stunning colour

stunning colour

looking up at the small dome

looking up at the small dome

doors and doors behind which lots of art lies

doors and doors

a marble bachus

a marble Bacchus

a sceptical boy, sculpted from clay

a skeptical boy, sculpted from clay

I fell in love with this beautifully sculptured woman, burnt clay

I fell in love with this beautifully sculptured woman, burnt clay

walking towards the Neues Museum where the Bust of Nefertiti is ... and yes she is stunning but no photos allowed

walking towards the Neues Museum where the Bust of Nefertiti is … and yes she is stunning but no photos allowed

the roofed passageway

the roofed passageway

you could have met me here

you could have met me here

a rider in the sky

a rider in the sky

inside the Pergamonmuseum, the home of some spectacular architecture ans the famous Pergamon Altar

inside the Pergamonmuseum, the home of some spectacular architecture ans the famous Pergamon Altar

walking through a Roman Gateway

walking through a Roman Gateway

even then graffiti was around ... Latin anyone?

even then graffiti was around … Latin anyone?

a Babylonian wall, no idea what kind of animal this is meant to be

a Babylonian wall, no idea what kind of animal this is meant to be

walking back towards the ALexanderplatz I passed by the Dom

walking back towards the Alexanderplatz I passed by the Dom

bright green angels watching over the door

bright green angels watching over the door

a special exhibition is lining the streets of Berlin reminding everyone of the Nazis rise to power 80 years ago. These Pillars show the faces and tell the stories of those people who dared to disagree. many where artists, actors, journalist, but some where just brave citizens of Berlin

a special exhibition is lining the streets of Berlin reminding everyone of the Nazis rise to power 80 years ago. These Pillars show the faces and tell the stories of those people who dared to disagree. many where artists, actors, journalist, but some where just brave citizens of Berlin

some bucket lights

some bucket lights

Berlin lacht (Berlin is laughing)

Berlin lacht (Berlin is laughing)

