Tags

, , , , , ,

I spent the evening with an Irish friend who has been living in Berlin for the past five years and it was so good to just sit and chat. She was wearing a beautiful yellow dress, the happiest colour possible, and looked stunning.

As the warm evening started fading into night we finished our food and ordered a cocktail. Who knew that ginger-ale, cucumber and vodka could be so refreshing and I may just have found a new favourite drink in the Russian mule (some seem to call it Munich mule as Russian mule can be done with lime)

We had two lovely waiters, a golden haired women in a lovely white blouse and a tall handsome chap all in black. Me being my usual self chatted away to the two of them and made a few, possibly quite silly, jokes. My friend marveled at how friendly they were as the people in Berlin have the reputation of being outspoken, a little coarse and very rude and unfriendly. It’s called Berliner Schnauze (Berlin Gob).

Now I have to say that this has not been my experience, but then I rarely come across unfriendliness. However friends have told me that it could be down to me as I make it quite difficult to be rude to.

My friend and I discussed this phenomenon  and I told her that I often get a free coffee, or that in certain cafes in Dublin I am even greeted with a hug. She said that that would never happen in Berlin as unfriendliness is the name of the game. In that moment the lovely guy waiter started placing paper-bags on the tables, tiny lights glowing from within. As he approached our table I joked that I thought he was bringing sweets, we giggled and that was that.

Shortly afterwards my friends eyes doubled in size and she couldn’t believe what was happening. The waiter reappeared with some biscuits for us, explaining that they didn’t have sweets but hoping these would do. My friend just couldn’t get over the fact that a Berliner waiter could be so nice.

I just smiled and ate a cookie, delighted that we had experienced some unprecedented (in her case) Berliner friendliness.

