Tags

, , , , , ,

After cooking on cement on Monday I decided I needed a day out in nature, between trees.  So yesterday I packed my swim-suit, a  towel and some snacks and made my way down to the Mueggelsee.

The Mueggelsee is the largest lake in Berlin and is the eastern suburbs, right next to Koepenick, Rahnsdorf and Fiedrichshagen. It is surrounded by woods and has lots of little natural alcoves that make perfect bathing spots.

As I wandered through the woods, enjoying the shade and sounds I marveled how close this beautiful piece of nature is to Germany’s capital. Big and bustling Berlin is home to about four million but the Mueggelsee is quite and peaceful, a perfect get-a-way from big city life.

I sat and read, ate cherries and watched the birds. And when I went for a  dip I was amazed at how warm the water was. As I swam a swan passed by, giving me a disgusted look at my human inelegance.

window dressing

window dressing

take a seat

take a seat

spotty leaves

spotty leaves

walk this way

walk this way

hopping by

hopping by

my bathing spot

my bathing spot

a swan in the distance

a swan in the distance

a cabin in the woods

a cabin in the woods

beautiful evening light

beautiful evening light

candy-stripes in the wood

candy-stripes between trees

fencing in the birds

fencing in the birds

colours

on the shore

on the shore

snowball flowers

snowball flowers

