Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

There is nothing quite like the smell and taste of freshly baked goods. A warm doughiness filling your home with sweet smells and spices and flavours melting on your tongue and in your belly.  I always feel content when savouring that first bite of oven-fresh loveliness, a pure moment of happiness.

Because today is Sunday and I had time I indulged in a little baking and am now joyously munching some fresh banana-bread. The crust may be a little dark but the inside is perfectly moist and crumbly, the taste of banana, cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla creating a symphony of flavours in my mouth.  And while I watch the rain fall I can’t help but relish this absolute feeling of contentment.

It is not a feeling I often have but over the last few weeks it has been creeping in every now and then. Fleeting seconds of counting my blessings, smiling at the promises that lie ahead and enjoying being in the now.

After the last two years (and many more before them) of struggle and loss, I am happy where I am right now. I am enjoying my freedom over the summer, savouring lazy days, meeting friends and trying new things. Of course many of my good intentions have fallen by the wayside, for now, but it doesn’t seem to matter. After all the summer still stretches out before me filled with adventures and unknown gifts.

This doesn’t mean I don’t still have my lonely moments or don’t fret over big and little things. And yes, I still have unfulfilled hopes and dreams, know my limits and limitations and can’t seem to shake my singeldoomness (not a word I know, but I assure you it is a feeling). But for someone who is trying to be more mindful, these twinkling spells of contentment are a great success.

With that in mind I think I’ll have another slice of banana-bread contentment and leave you with a quote:

Contentment is not the fulfillment of what you want, but the realization of how much you already have

just yum

just yum

